Motor Vehicle Infractions – Suspensions Triggered

It is important to remember that suspension actions and additional sanctions for any of the following provisions are independent of one another, and suspension periods are imposed to be served consecutively.

Three Speeding Tickets - MGL c. 90, § 20 provides that any driver found responsible for three speeding tickets within a twelve month period shall have their license to operate a motor vehicle suspended for thirty days.

Three Surchargeable Events – This suspension is triggered if an individual is found responsible for any combination of three surchargeable events and/or moving violations within a twenty four month period.

Massachusetts Law prohibits the issuance of a hardship license when this suspension is active.

To avoid this suspension, the law requires that the operator completes a Driver Retraining Course within ninety days from the date that said operator receives notice of the pending suspension. If this requirement is neglected, the operator’s license will be suspended until the Driver Retraining Course is completed, and a $100 fee is charged for reinstatement. The driver is required to take the Retraining Course every time that they are found responsible for a third surchargeable event within the twenty four month period.

Massachusetts Law requires that the Registry of Motor Vehicles mail the operator a notice disclosing their Intent to Suspend the License, within a timeframe that allows for the ninety day window to complete the required course.

Five Surchargeable Events – This suspension is triggered if an operator is found responsible for five surchargeable events within a three year time period.

If a surchargeable event is reported to the Massachusetts Registry of Motor Vehicles by some other state, the event will be factored into the calculation.

MGL c. 175, § 113B requires that a driver that has been found responsible for five surchargeable events within a three year time period must complete a Driver Retraining Course through the National Safety Council. Unlike the Retraining Course required following three surchargeable events, which can be completed on line, this course requires the driver to appear in person and complete the course requirements.

Seven Surchargeable Events – This suspension is triggered by any combination of moving violations or surchargeable events within a three year period.

MGL c. 175, § 113B mandates a sixty day suspension. Following the sixty day period, the driver may reinstate their license after paying a $100 reinstatement fee.

Habitual Traffic Offender – This suspension is triggered by an accumulation of a total of three major moving violations; or, any combination of twelve major or minor moving violations within a five year period.

Surchargeable accidents are not part of the Habitual Traffic Offender calculation.

MGL c. 90, § 22F mandates a four year suspension.

Following the four year suspension, the driver is required to pass a full Massachusetts Driver’s License Exam and Road Test; and, pay a $500 fee before their license may be reinstated.